This Week’s Descendants: Splat and Jet

Salt and Katie, from Salt and the Sea Venture, were some of the first English cats to settle in the New World. If you have a cat, it is probably a descendant of Salt and Katie.

I met this week’s descendants, Splat and Jet on twitter. I strongly suspect their companion, @Bagahofo on does the tweeting for them at the Twitter site, Bagpuss Kitty.

Here’s Splat, he got his name because he always looks like he fell to the floor in a… you guessed it, Splat.

CRSXJZ97

I think he’s lovely, and just like Toady from Salt and the Sea Venture, he takes a strong interest in his vittles.

His partner is Jet. Her name obviously comes from her beautiful black fur.

LHnzXKYo

What  is really special about these two is that they are a bonded pair. When they were rescued from an animal shelter by their companion, they could not be separated. They were so closely bonded that they had to go to their new home together. Who says cats aren’t loyal?

I’m happy to share these two darling descendants with you.

Do you have a cat? If so, they are probably a descendant to Salt and Katie. I’d love to hear from you, so they can be included on the blog, and maybe in a future book!

About mgill0627

I've always been a story teller. This made for some interesting missing homework and late for curfew tales. But I've never had a head for the pedantic rules of grammar and spelling. This made for some interesting comma placement and spelling choices. About ten years ago I decided to figure out how to share my stories, in spite of my shortcomings. I'm lucky to have great colleagues who can help me with the fine details. My favorite class in school was American History. The Colonial Cat's series gives me a chance to write about the great history of the United States and cats!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week’s Descendants: Splat and Jet

  1. Two more lovely cats. 🙂

    Like

  2. mgill0627 says:

    Thanks Suzanne,

    Like

Leave a Reply

