The Healing Power of Cat Purrs

In my book,  Salt and the Sea Venture, Salt says,

Despite his satisfaction with life on board the Sea Venture, Salt was still distressed when he looked at the humans in his company. They were all miserable and this upset Salt. He longed for them to hold him so he could purr and lower their blood pressure and increase their sense of well-being. He wanted to help keep them warm at night and drive away nightmares…

Salt clearly understands that one of a cat’s roles is to bring comfort to the people he has chosen. And it only took 404 years for science to catch up.

I found this infographic which I thought was quite interesting, at the Daily Infographic.

It’s called “The Healing Power of Cat Purrs.

Thehealingpowerofcatpurrs_51367583d074d

Salt certainly seems to have been right! For more info, check out the full aticle at  Daily Infographic.

Oh, and if you’re suffering any of the above symptoms, get a shelter cat. There are loads of them out there waiting to give all the love and healing in the world.

About mgill0627

I've always been a story teller. This made for some interesting missing homework and late for curfew tales. But I've never had a head for the pedantic rules of grammar and spelling. This made for some interesting comma placement and spelling choices. About ten years ago I decided to figure out how to share my stories, in spite of my shortcomings. I'm lucky to have great colleagues who can help me with the fine details. My favorite class in school was American History. The Colonial Cat's series gives me a chance to write about the great history of the United States and cats!
This entry was posted in animal shelters, cat rescue, cats, Colonial America, descendants, healing, Salt and the Sea Venture, therapy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Healing Power of Cat Purrs

  1. Glynis Jolly says:

    Absolutely perfect, Melissa.

    Like

  2. That’s great to know, M. 🙂

    Like

  3. I fully believe in this healing power. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

