DESCENDANTS OF SALT AND KATIE: ATLANTIS

Today’s descendant is Atlantis.

atlantis3This gorgeous girl has the perfect name for the descendant of cats who crossed the Atlantic three times in 1609, 1615, and 1616.

Katie was even born in the Atlantic Ocean onboard the Sea Venture.

But more about Atlantis. She currently lives at Wayside Waifs, a no-kill animal shelter near Kansas City, MO. She is a little over 7 years old and looking for a forever family to call her own. She has the personality of a “Private Investigator,” meaning she checks out everything that’s going on in the household and reports back with a big dose of love and affection.

She is also one of the FIV cats at the shelter who is expected to live a long and healthy life with the right companion. She will need to be kept indoors in a single cat household and receive regular health checkups, but besides that, she should live a full life.

Just like all the domestic cats in North America, Atlantis is not an inidgenous animal. Her ancestors were brought here by early settlers going as far back as the Vikings. Cats really started to take hold in this part of the world with the advent of European settlers. Cats like Salt and Katie, from Salt and the Sea Venture, were some of the first cats to find there way to the New World in 1609.

Do you have a cat? If so, it’s probably a descendant of Salt and Katie. If you’d like me to feature your cat on the blog (and plug anything you have going,) reply in the comments, or e-mail me at mgill0627@aol.com.

About mgill0627

I've always been a story teller. This made for some interesting missing homework and late for curfew tales. But I've never had a head for the pedantic rules of grammar and spelling. This made for some interesting comma placement and spelling choices. About ten years ago I decided to figure out how to share my stories, in spite of my shortcomings. I'm lucky to have great colleagues who can help me with the fine details. My favorite class in school was American History. The Colonial Cat's series gives me a chance to write about the great history of the United States and cats!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DESCENDANTS OF SALT AND KATIE: ATLANTIS

  1. noelleg44 says:

    What a gorgeous girl! I hope she finds a forever home. We have one large cat occupying our lives, the house and the yard, He doesn’t share, unfortunately.

    Like

  2. mgill0627 says:

    Same for me. I had another cat, but I think Mitchell has gotten so used to being an only child that he would be very upset if I got another cat now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

